TO: Heads of All State Departments and Agencies

SUBJECT: Appointment of Committee for the Implementation of Delaware's Guaranteed Student Loan Program Under Part B, Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965

WHEREAS, Part B, Title IV, of the Higher Education Act of 1965 provides for the establishment of low interest insured loan programs to assist students attending colleges and universities ; and

WHEREAS, the U. S. Office of Education has made available to the State of Delaware $25,000 to establish an insured student loan program; and

WHEREAS, the University of Delaware has been designated as the State of Delaware's agent to receive the $25,000 Federal funds now available in Fiscal year 1966; and

WHEREAS, the University of Delaware, Delaware State College and Wesley College are all available to participate in this low interest insured loan program; and

WHEREAS, these Federal funds are to be distributed based on the number of full-time students at these eligible institutions; and

WHEREAS, these funds are to be used by the University of Delaware, Delaware State College, and Wesley College to insure loans to be made by Delaware banks; and

WHEREAS, the pro-rata shares of the $25,000 Federal funds credited to the University of Delaware, Delaware State College and Wesley College to establish the guaranteed student loan programs through the United Student Aid Fund are to be based upon the full-time student enrollment at these institutions;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Charles L. Terry, Jr., by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Delaware, do hereby order that a Committee of representatives of the University of Delaware, Delaware State College, Wesley College having been nominated by the Presidents of these three institutions, is created and appointed to be responsible for the establishment of policies and procedures necessary to the implementation of Delaware's guaranteed student loan program established with Federal funds. The below listed individuals are hereby appointed as representatives and members of the aforesaid committee:

Harold Kauffman, Assistant Dean of Students, University of Delaware

Dr. Luna I. Mishoe, President, Delaware State College

William R. M. Asborne, Business Manager, Wesley College

Further, the aforesaid committee shall have authority upon the unanimous agreement among the three members thereof to transfer the Federal funds used to insure loans from the credit of one institution to another in the event any one institution finds it does not require all of the loan money allotted and available to it.

APPROVED this fourth day of April, 1966.


CHARLES L. TERRY, JR. By the Governor

Attest: ELISHA C. DUKES, Secretary of State