Professions and Occupations


Subchapter III. Other Provisions

(a) This chapter shall not apply to any Delaware licensed real estate salesperson or broker, who prepares a competitive market analysis survey used only for the purpose of listing a property for sale or lease, nor to any individual, who prepares real estate appraisals for the licensee's full-time employer for the employer's internal use only, and which is performed in the regular course of employee's position.

(b) Nothing in this chapter shall require a geologist licensed under Chapter 36 of this title to meet the requirements for either certification or licensure, provided that the geologist's written estimate of value is not the sole determinant of a property's value and that any such estimate of value is not used as an appraisal in federally-related transactions.

(c) Nothing in the chapter shall require an auctioneer to meet the requirement for either certification or licensure under this chapter, provided that the auctioneer provides only a verbal estimate of sale and not a written appraisal of the value of any real property.

(d) This chapter shall not invalidate nor shall it apply to real estate tax assessments or reassessments done for municipal or county governments where such appraisals are done by full-time municipal or county government employees acting in the regular course of business.

(e) The Council on Real Estate Appraisers shall develop standards in cooperation with the Delaware Association of Counties and the Executive Director of the League of Local Governments or his or her designee for licensing and training of assessors in order for municipal and county assessment departments to be in compliance within 3 years of the development and adoption of said standards.

75 Del. Laws, c. 105, § 3; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1.;

A person, not currently licensed as an appraiser under this chapter, when guilty of engaging in the practice of appraising, or using in connection with the person's name, or otherwise assuming or using any title or description conveying, or tending to convey the impression that the person is qualified to act as an appraiser, such offender shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. Upon the first offense, the person shall be fined not less than $500 or more than $1,000 for each offense. For a second or subsequent conviction, the fine shall be not less than $1,000 or more than $2,000 for each offense. Justice of the Peace Court shall have jurisdiction over all violations of this chapter.

75 Del. Laws, c. 105, § 3; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1.;

An applicant for licensure or certification under § 4008 or § 4009 of this title shall submit, at the applicant's expense, fingerprints and other necessary information in order to obtain the following:

(1) A report of the individual's entire criminal history record from the State Bureau of Identification or a statement from the State Bureau of Identification that the State Central Repository contains no such information relating to that person.

(2) A report of the individual's entire federal criminal history record pursuant to the Federal Bureau of Investigation appropriation of Title II of Public Law 92-544 (28 U.S.C. § 534). The State Bureau of Identification shall be the intermediary for purposes of this section and the Council shall be the screening point for the receipt of said federal criminal history records.

79 Del. Laws, c. 163, § 1.;