Health and Safety

Mental Health


Subchapter IX. Addiction Action Committee

(a) The Addiction Action Committee (the "Committee'') is hereby established. The purpose of the Committee shall be to develop and monitor a coordinated and comprehensive approach to Delaware's addiction epidemic. In furtherance of this purpose, the Committee will recommend and encourage comprehensive prevention, treatment, surveillance and monitoring strategies to evaluate and curtail the addiction epidemic in Delaware and shall promote quality and accessible pain management for Delawareans.

(b) The Division of Public Health shall have access to data and reports necessary to inform the Committee's work.

(c) Beginning with a report submitted on June 1, 2018, the Committee shall make annual recommendations to the Governor and the General Assembly regarding progress and recommendations to improve rates of mortality and morbidity from addictive drugs. Notwithstanding any provision of this subchapter to the contrary, such recommendation shall not specifically identify any individual or any nongovernmental agency, organization or entity.

(d) The Committee shall be composed of 17 members. The Chairperson of the Committee shall be the Secretary of the Department of Health and Social Services or the Secretary's designee. The members shall be the following:

(1) The Secretary of the Department of Health and Social Services.

(2) The Deputy Secretary of the Department of Health and Social Services.

(3) The Secretary of the Department of State.

(4) The Secretary of the Department of Safety and Homeland Security.

(5) The Secretary of the Department of Services for Children, Youth and their Families.

(6) The Secretary of the Department of Education.

(7) The Attorney General.

(8) The Governor shall appoint the following members:

a. Two Delaware licensed physicians nominated by the Medical Society of Delaware.

b. A Delaware licensed registered nurse nominated by the Delaware Nurses Association.

c. A Delaware licensed pharmacist nominated by the Delaware Pharmacists Society.

d. A representative of a drug treatment facility.

e. A representative of the pharmaceutical industry.

f. A representative of a health-care facility nominated by the Delaware Healthcare Association.

g. A representative of a private insurance carrier.

h. Two public members that shall represent community efforts to address the problem of substance abuse.

(e) Members serving by virtue of position may appoint a designee to serve in their stead and at their pleasure. Appointed members shall serve at the pleasure of the appointing authority.

(f) At the request of the Committee or at the invitation of the Chair, other individuals may be invited to participate in the conversation because such individuals bring specific expertise for a topic under discussion. The Committee shall adopt bylaws that provide for operating procedures such as: election of officers, appointment of subcommittees, designation of a quorum, conducting of meetings, and other matters that will promote the efficient operation of the Committee in the performance of its duties under this chapter.

(g) Administrative support for the committee shall be provided by the Department of Health and Social Services.

81 Del. Laws, c. 126, § 1.;