WHEREAS, by the unanimous action of thirty colonial patriots, gathered in convention at the state capital in Dover on December 7, 1787, the Constitution of the United States was first ratified ; and

WHEREAS, through that ratification, Delaware proudly claimed the title of "First State" and has enjoyed the privileges and prerogatives of that important position for the past 166 years ; and

WHEREAS, this same action placed our white star first in the upper left hand corner of the blue field in our National emblem ; and

WHEREAS, Delawareans have guarded this proud heritage through the years, and have faithfully preserved many of the public buildings, old homes and precious records associated with the founding and birth of a new land ; and

WHEREAS, the General Assembly of Delaware, by resolution adopted on November 29, 1933, authorized and directed that the Governor issue an annual proclamation calling attention to this historic occasion and give it deserved recognition ;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, J. Caleb Boggs, Governor of the State of Delaware, do hereby designate and proclaim Monday, December 7, 1953, as


and I request that we do all in our power on this occasion to bring full significance of this act by our forefathers to the attention of all students in our schools, colleges and universities. Let it also be the subject for discussion at civic, fraternal and like gatherings.

It is also my sincere hope that on the Sunday preceding we give thanks in our houses of worship for this firm foundation bequeathed to all of us. In recognition of this day let us gratefully display the flags of our Nation and State and let us make use of the State Song, "Our Delaware", on every appropriate occasion.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I, J. Caleb Boggs, Governor of the State of Delaware, have hereunto set my hand and caused the Great Seal of the said State to be hereunto affixed at Dover, this Twenty-

(Great Seal) third day of November in the year of Our Lord One thousand nine hundred and fifty-three, and of the Independence of the United States of America, the one-hundred and seventy-eighth.

J. CALEB BOGGS, Governor

JOHN N. McDOWELL, Secretary of State