WHEREAS, in November, 1637, an expedition of the New Sweden Company, consisting of two ships, "Kalmar Nyckel" and the "Fogel Grip", left Gothenburg, Sweden, to establish a colony in the Delaware River Valley, and during the latter part of March, 1638, the two ships anchored off the so-called "Rocks" on the Christina River; and

WHEREAS, on March 29, 1638, the New Sweden Company, represented by Peter Minuit, Director of the expedition, purchased from five Indian chiefs the land on the west side of the Delaware River extending from Bombay Hook northward to the Schuylkill River, which purchase included land now known as New Castle County in the State of Delaware, and following the sale of the land, and on the same day, Peter Minuit, his officers, and men landed at "The Rocks" and with solemn ceremonies raised the Swedish coat-of-arms on a post, called the country New Sweden, and subsequently built a fort there, which they named Fort Christina in honor of the Queen of Sweden; and

WHEREAS, Fort Christina was the first settlement of the Colony of New Sweden, and the First permanent settlement in the Delaware River Valley, and was also the first permanent settlement in the State of Delaware, and this first settlement and successive settlements of the Colony of New Sweden marked the beginnings of government, religion, education, agriculture, commerce, and industry in our State.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Elbert N. Carvel, Governor of the State of Delaware, by authority of the General Assembly proclaim Monday, March 31, 1952, as


appropriate ceremonies of this historic day and to display the National and State flags on our public buildings.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I, Elbert N. Carvel, Governor of the State of Delaware, have hereunto set my hand and caused the Great Seal of the said State, to be hereunto affixed at Dover this Twentieth day of March, in the Year of Our Lord One Thousand Nine Hundred and Fifty-two, and of the Independence of the United States of America, the One Hundred and Seventy-sixth.


By the Governor:


HARRIS B. McDOWELL, JR., Secretary of State.